Craigslist Phishing Scam

Written by Will on March 26th, 2010

Yesterday I added an event to Craigslist.  Today I get this email

Quoting Jordan Miller <fcd@craiglist.org>:

I am VERY interested in your add. Please look and tell me if this is the one.

http://www.craigslists.org/fcd/ctd/909780589.html

Thanks !

At first I thought it was weird that someone would reply to a posting about an event like this.  I closed it and didn’t think anything more until a few minutes later when I took a second look.

Ah ha!

The URL – check it out.  It goes to craigslists.org.  I’m not clicking on it. I’m betting anything it’s a spyware/malware site.

Sure enough, Google shows that site as only having 5 pages. Yeah, that’s because all the vicious scripts are hidden, probably.

If you’re posting ads on Craigslist, watch out for this one.

Related posts:

  1. VA Tech and Phishing Scams – Already
  2. YTB Travel – Scam or Legit Business?
 

1 Comments so far ↓

  1. Will,

    Your spam area will probably get filled with these types of comments on your WordPress blog if it hasn’t done so already. It appears that in this case Craigslist is having a similar issue with a spambot.

Leave a Comment